top of page


UN Sanctions 

The United Nations Security Council by adopting resolution 1591, imposed the following sanctions vis-a-vis Sudan.  The UN Sudan regimes consists of: 

  • Travel ban 

  • Arms embargo 

  • Financial sanctions (asset freeze)


EU Sanctions 

The EU sanctions regime against Sudan is based on "COUNCIL DECISION 2014/450/CFSP of 10 July 2014 concerning restrictive measures in view of the situation in Sudan and repealing Decision 2011/423/CFSP."

This is a list-based sanction regime in line with number of UNSC resolutions and

has the following restrictive measures: 

  • Travel ban

  • Financial sanctions (asset freeze) 

  • Arms embargo 

U.S. Sanctions 

The Sudan program was established in 1997 when the U.S. President issued E.O. 13067 freezing Government of Sudan's properties and its interests thereto and putting a comprehensive trade ban in place against Sudan. The sanctions against Sudan were expanded by E.O. 13400 (Blocking Property of Persons in Connection With the Conflict in Sudan’s Darfur Region), and E.O. 13412. In the latter E.O. the President took steps to implement the Darfur Peace and Accountability Act of 2006

On January 13, 2017, by E.O. 13761, the President found that positive efforts by the Government of Sudan between July 2016 and January 2017 improved certain conditions that E.O. 13067 and 13412 were intended to address. E.O. 13761 (as amended by E.O. 13804 which changed the effective date of revocations to October 12, 2017), revoked E.O. 13412 in its entirety and revoked the sanctions put in E.O. 13067. Yet, it kept the national emergency declared in E.O. 13067 (expanded by E.O.13400). The national emergency is still in effect with respect to Darfur and continues to block the property and interests in property of certain persons connected with the conflict in Darfur. 

Since October 12, 2017, all that is left from previously comprehensive Sudan sanctions is the trench imposed with respect to the Darfur conflict and the authority on which it is based is E.O. 13400. These are codified under part 546 of 31 C.F.R. This is a list-based sanction program and those target by it are identified by [DARFUR] tag on the Treasury SDN list. 

Finally, on December 14, 2020, Sudan was also removed from the list of State Sponsors of Terrorism.

bottom of page